Britten Sinfonia

23 May 7.30pm – 10.53pm

UK Premiere

Clark Rundell conductor
Thomas Gould electric violin
Colin Currie, Alexandre Esperet percussion

John Adams Shaker Loops
John Adams Chamber Symphony
Nico Muhly Seeing is Believing (Concerto for
Electric Violin)
Nico Muhly Double Standard (UK premiere)

Britten Sinfonia is one of the most adventurous ensembles around. In this typically edgy programme, the orchestra and three electrifying soloists set the complex minimalism of John Adams against Nico Muhly’s cross-genre inventiveness. The shimmering strings in Shaker Loops and the fiendish challenges of Chamber Symphony encapsulate Adams’s rich aural palette. Muhly’s Seeing is Believing blends electronic fusion and Tudor motets, while Double Standard is a visceral piece written for Colin Currie and the finalists in last year’s TROMP Percussion Competition, won by Alexandre Esperet.

Performance runs: c.90 minutes (including interval)

“There are few more thrilling things in British music than Britten Sinfonia on top form. ” The Daily Telegraph