City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Tuesday 16 May

Conductor Karina Canellakis spreads her arms wide conducting City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra with flourish
Karina Canellakis

Karen Gomyo violin
Karina Canellakis conductor
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Franck Le chasseur maudit
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto
Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances

The last score that Rachmaninov ever completed may be one of his finest. His trio of Symphonic dances for orchestra is so full of colour, ravishing melodies and effortless lyricism that is hard to believe he had all but given up on composing a few years earlier. Mendelssohn’s glimmering violin concerto, too, was the last large-scale work he composed – and what a way to bow out. Under Karina Canellakis’ expressive direction, the CBSO give illuminating performances of these late masterpieces, with the fiery young violinist Karen Gomyo as soloist.

Performance runs: c. 1 hr 45 mins (including interval)

Visit City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra's website here

Visit Karina Canellakis' website here

Visit Karen Gomyo's website here