Ensemble Mirage

Wednesday 25 May

Stravinsky Suite from L’Histoire du soldat
Brahms Clarinet Trio in A minor Op.114
Messiaen Quatuor pour la fin du temps

Ensemble Mirage explore a wide-ranging repertoire — in this case three pieces that chart the evolution from Romanticism to contemporary music. Stravinsky juggles jazz, waltz and ragtime to illustrate the parable of a soldier who gives his fiddle to the devil in return for untold riches.

Brahms is in sombre and introspective mood for his Clarinet Trio, and Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time, inspired by the visionary language of the Book of Revelation, is a tour-deforce that embraces Medieval modes, Indian rhythms and birdsong in its bold orchestrations.

Royal Academy Of Music Concert Series

A stunning range of talent and repertoire is the hallmark of the ever-popular concert series by students from the Royal Academy of Music. The stars of tomorrow offer a richly diverse programme that includes something for all musical tastes.

Performance runs: c. 95 minutes (plus interval)