Evelyne Berezovsky


Thursday 22 May

Schumann Sonata no.2 op.22 in G minor *
Ravel Valse Nobles et Sentimental op.77
Chopin Barcarolle in F-sharp major
Rachmaninov Corelli variations op.42

An acclaimed soloist since the age of seven, Evelyne Berezovsky won the prestigious International Lagny-sur-Marne International Piano Competition in 2012. Her programme for this concert opens with Beethoven’s ‘Les Adieux’ sonata, acknowledged as exceptionally challenging, both technically and emotionally. Ravel’s suite of 11 waltzes is an intoxicating blend of musical impressionism and modernism while the surge of melody in Chopin’s Barcarolle is romantic and wistful by turns. Finally, Rachmaninov’s set of variations offers a more restrained aspect of his ultra-Romantic style.

Performance runs: 60 mins (no interval)

Royal Academy of Music Concert Series

Once again we welcome a cohort of rising stars for the ever-popular series of concerts performed by members of the Royal Academy of Music. This series has become an important feature of the Festival in recent years, offering standout performances of works both classic and contemporary, both familiar and ripe for discovery. These are the names to look out for; remember, you heard them here first!

* There has been a slight change to the programme advertised in the Festival brochure. Evelyne Berezovsky will no longer be performing the Beethoven piece (Les Adieux No.26 op.81 in E-flat major); this piece has been replaced by Schumann’s Sonata no.2 op.22 in G minor.

Sponsored by

Leathes Prior
Leathes Prior