Mozart & Haydn

English Chamber Orchestra

Friday 27 May

David Parry conductor
Savitri Grier violin

Haydn Symphony No. 44 in E minor, ‘Trauer’
Mozart Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major K219, ‘Turkish’ / Adagio and Fugue in C minor K546 / Symphony No. 29 in A major K201/186a

One of the most acclaimed ensembles in the country, perform a programme devoted to masterworks from late 18th century Austria. Haydn and Mozart are perfect partners as David Parry is joined by the virtuoso Savitri Grier to explore an astonishingly creative period.

Haydn nicknamed his Symphony No.44 the ‘Trauer’, or ‘Mourning’. It is suitably melancholy and austere in places, dramatic and passionate in others: sturm und drang at its most eloquent. Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5, on the other hand, is spirited and serene by turns with a great lightness of touch. The composer nods to Bach in the intense and introspective Adagio and Fugue, but is back with irrepressible energy in the Symphony No. 29, an essay in joie de vivre.

Performance runs: c. 90 minutes (plus interval)

Visit English Chamber Orchestra's website here